LINKS TO QUILT HISTORY & QUILT CARE

The following websites provide historical information:

Olive Oil 2003, by Carlene Buck Machine quilted by Candy Weir

Olive Oil
2003, by Carlene Buck
Machine quilted by Candy Weir

Quilt History Website: Articles on Quilting, links to many great quilting history sites: www.quilthistory.com

International Quilt Study Center & Museum: Searchable data base of quilts and Pod cast Lectures: www.quiltstudy.org

New Pathways Into Quilt History: Quilt history articles: www.antiquequiltdating.com

Vintage Fabrics – IN SEARCH OF WARP ENDS : by Joan Kiplinger: info.fabrics.net/the-hunt-for-vintage-cotton-in-search-of-warpends/

Illinois Quilt History: www.illinoisquilthistory.com./research.html

State Quilt Documentation and Regional Quilt History: A Selective Bibliography: www.booksandoldlace.com/quilting/statequilthistorybibliography.htm

Barbara Brackman Website; Quilt Historian: barbarabrackman.blogspot.com

Patches From the Past: Scraps of Textile, Needlework & Quilt History: www.historyofquilts.com

America’s Quilting History: Tour of America’s Quilting Through Time, Articles: www.womenfolk.com

 

The following websites provide guidance and instructions for care of quilts:

detail of "Olde Colony Rose" designed & constructed by Sandy Schweitzer, owner

detail of “Olde Colony Rose”
designed & constructed
by Sandy Schweitzer, owner

Great Lakes Quilt Center, Michigan State University Museum: Quilt Care: museum.msu.edu/glqc/quiltcare.html

Patches From the Past: Quilt Care: www.historyofquilts.com/quilt_care.html

The Textile Museum. Quilt Care & Display: museum.gwu.edu/hanging-textiles

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Extension, Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources:

Smithsonian Institution: Care of Victorian Silk quilts and Slumber throws: www.si.edu/Encyclopedia_SI/nmah/vicquilt.htm

Canadian Conservation Institute / Insitut canadien de conservation: Notes Textiles and Fibres:  www.canada.ca/en/conservation-institute/services/conservation-preservation-publications/canadian-conservation-institute-notes.html

Quilt Organizations:

American Quilt Study Group: www.americanquiltstudygroup.org

American Quilter’s Society: www.americanquilter.com

The Quilt Index: A Research Tool: www.quiltindex.org

Studio Art Quilt Associates: www.saqa.com

The National Quilt Museum of the United States: www.quiltmuseum.org

The Alliance for American Quilts: www.allianceforamericanquilts.org

The Canadian Quilters’ Association/Association canadienne de la courtepointe:www.canadianquilter.com

Other:

Piecemakers Country Store: piecemakers.com