Information on Quilt Appraisals, Care, Dating, Restoration and Values

LINKS TO QUILT HISTORY & QUILT CARE

The following web sites provide historical information:

Quilt History Web site: Articles on Quilting, links to many great quilting history sites: www.quilthistory.com

International Quilt Study Center & Museum: Searchable data base of quilts and Pod cast Lectures: www.quiltstudy.org

New Pathways Into Quilt History: Quilt history articles: www.antiquequiltdating.com

Vintage Fabrics - IN SEARCH OF WARP ENDS : by Joan Kiplinger: www.fabrics.net/joan801.asp

Illinois Quilt History: www.illinoisquilthistory.com./research.html

State Quilt Documentation and Regional Quilt History: A Selective Bibliography: www.booksandoldlace.com/quilting/statequilthistorybibliography.htm

Barbara Brackman Web Site; Quilt Historian: www.barbarabrackman.com/faqs2.aspx

Hart Cottage Quilts: Quilt History articles: hartcottagequilts.com

Patches From the Past: Scraps of Textile, Needlework & Quilt History: www.historyofquilts.com

America's Quilting History: Tour of America's Quilting Through Time, Articles: www.womenfolk.com

 

The following web sites provide guidance and instructions for care of quilts:

Great Lakes Quilt Center, Michigan State University Museum: Quilt Care: museum.msu.edu/glqc/quiltcare.html

Patches From the Past: Quilt Care: www.historyofquilts.com/quilt_care.html

The Textile Museum. Quilt Care & Display: www.textilemuseum.org/care/care.htm

Hart Cottage Quilts: quilt care articles: hartcottagequilts.com/quiltcare.htm

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Extension, Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources: Care and Conservation of Heirloom Textiles: www.quiltstudy.org/about_us/questions_answers/care.html

Smithsonian Institution: Care of Victorian Silk quilts and Slumber throws: www.si.edu/Encyclopedia_SI/nmah/vicquilt.htm

Canadian Conservation Institute / Insitut canadien de conservation: Notes Textiles and Fibres www.cci-icc.gc.ca/crc/notes

 

Quilt Organizations:

American Quilt Study Group: www.americanquiltstudygroup.org

American Quilter's Society: www.americanquilter.com

The Quilt Index: A Research Tool: www.quiltindex.org

Studio Art Quilt Associates: www.saqa.com

The National Quilt Museum of the United States: www.quiltmuseum.org

The Alliance for American Quilts: www.allianceforamericanquilts.org

The Canadian Quilters' Association/Association canadienne de la courtepointe:www.canadianquilter.com

Other:

Piecemakers Country Store: piecemakers.com


Olive Oil
Olive Oil
2003, by Carlene Buck
Machine quilted by Candy Weir

Olde Colony Rose (detail)

detail of "Olde Colony Rose"
designed & constructed
by Sandy Schweitzer, owner

 

 

 



Web Design by Merry IT